Quick Update: Olympus OM-D Review

Standard

My local camera store just got a stock of Oly OM-D in so I went into try it while I was processing my film. 

Some quick notes:

-The AF isn’t as perfect as I thought. Unless you shoot at the maximum aperture of F/3.5 for the kit lens, the AF is actually quite useless– but let me explain. The “detection” phase of the AF is absolutely flawless. It locks on every time, and without fail. But on what is the question– it sometimes locks onto a different subject than what you wanted, for instance the garbage can instead of the face of your girlfriend. Obviously though, it’s a machine so it can’t predict what you want (which, strangely, Canon and Nikon DSLRs can do).

-When it does lock on though, you need to be shooting at a high F-stop. This unfortunately means several things: 1) street photography usually entails shooting at a low F-stop, which means you’re going to have to manually keep the shutter speed high, and 2) you’re going to have to stay pretty still.

Yup. That’s right. The Image Stabilization system actually is less impressive than we were marketed with. A bit of a swing and the picture is pretty much blurry below f/3.5. I even tried the yaw function and yup, it wasn’t all that different from the Fuji X-Pro 1. Maybe I’m missing something here. I need to go back and do another test, but it was ridiculously fast. I could hold down the shutter button and it automatically shoots several frames (rather than having to go into a separate multi-shoot mode), so one of those copies will hopefully be crystal clear.

Stay tuned.

 

-Phil

2 thoughts on “Quick Update: Olympus OM-D Review

  1. rashbre

    Interesting what you say re the street photography.

    I’ll try some during this week with the OM-D and see how I get on. I usually prefocus and use a slightly broader depth of field for street. I’ll probably try it with a fixed length lens also.

Leave a Reply

