My First Roll of Film (and the 10 Pictures I’m Not Embarrassed Enough to Hide)

Standard

One sunny Wednesday morning I walked into my local film developer and lo and behold– $15.14 to get it developed and put on CD. I still can’t get used to the idea of having to pay so much for the process, but maybe I’ll swallow that pill soon enough.

The location of shooting was in Berkeley, CA and I shot 37 exposures of a Kodak 125 Plus-X (PX). But before babbling on and making excuses, here are 10 keepers I won’t hide underneath a rock. Because, you know, the rest are that good. Really. I just don’t want to show it to you, that’s all. Mm-hm.

Without further ado, here they are:

“Bear Rider”

“Still Life of Law Student”

“Heart of Darkness”

“Better Together”

“Awkward”

“Afterhours”

“Architects of Love”

“Two bears, two men”

“One Way Runner”

“We Have Questions to Ask You”

Some lessons (painfully) learned, for those shooting a film camera:

  • Overexpose rather than underexpose. Not that perfect is bad, but if you need to grab a shot quick and you’re switching around the aperture, turn the dial towards the larger exposure meter. I lost too many shots because they were too dark.
  • I should buy a meter stick. No really, I should. It’s not because I’m American, I really don’t have a sense of what a meter is yet, so I can’t pre-focus correctly. That and I look like a pervert if I keep pointing the camera at my subject until they come into focus (which, in itself is a millisecond).
  • Picture looks washed out? Up the contrast dial on Lightroom/Photoshop and that should help it a bit. No other dial on LR/PS will help a film photo.

Man, developing is expensive. But a film/negative scanner is even more expensive ($600?! What did I just read!?)

&& Phil

Leave a Reply

